On what was a beautiful morning for golf following days of hot weather, a strong field of 70 players registered for the Tuross Head Veterans Golf annual 4 Person Ambrose event on 2 December, the game being followed by the Vets Annual General Meeting. The course was playing well with a number of team scores below par off the stick.

Winners on the day were the team of Ken Brown, Noel Downie together with husband and wife Chris and Ian Wratten with a net score of 25.37. They were followed home by Les Johanson, Ross Hendy, Steve Collins and Frank Pomfret with 27.25, Ian Miller, Ann Challender, Derek Hoare and Peg Nevett on 27.87, and Julie Barningham, Warren Hodder and Steve Gardner on 28.5 on count back. The only minor prize awarded went to the team of Peter Coffey, Peter Frost, Lance Shadbolt and Rob Nash, the count back losers also on 28.5.

Jeanette Miller, Mike Birks, Herb Muriwai and Peter McRae struggled on the day and were the event’s Bradman award winners.

Following the game the Captain announced results from the recently concluded annual Vets championships. For 2020 the Ladies champion was Jennifer Gray with Jeanette Miller as runner up, and for the Men, Steve Gardner took out the honours from runner up Bruce Martin.